Brownsea 106 Years Later

brownsea_island_sketch

This August 1st besides being “World Scout Scarf Day” is the 106th anniversary of the first encampment at Brownsea Island. We have come a long way from those first 20 campers. One wonders what the next 106 years hold for the movement?

I am asking that besides wearing your necker, neckie, or scarf this coming Thursday is that you also take time to say your Scout Promise as well. It’s a small gesture to our founder and the great game of Scouting as well as a reminder to all of us of our commitment to the service of others.

On my honour
I promise that I will do my best
To do my duty to God and the Queen
To help other people at all times,
And to carry out the spirit of the Scout Law.

I hope that everybody is enjoying the summer so far. Until next time…

Be safe, be prepared, and keep Scouting!

What do you think?

