Scouting for “Suess”

While I can find no written proof of it, I feel that Dr. Suess was a Scout in his heart. Now it is a big leap to make that kind of statement, but please consider the following idea. If you look at his books they express very clear views on many subject far beyond just a child’s story. But how does this tie into Scouting?

First lets talk of Sneetches. In this story there are two kinds of Sneetches, ones with stars on their bellies and those without. But which was the best kind? Eventually they realize that all Sneetches are the same no matter what they look like. Equality is a core value of Scouting. It doesn’t matter where in the world you are from, being a Scout makes us all the same. One world and one promise.

“The Sneetches got really quite smart on that day. The day they decided that Sneetches are Sneetches. And no kind of Sneetch is the best on the beaches. That day, all the Sneetches forgot about stars and whether they had one, or not, upon thars.”

Horton the Elephant from Horton Hears a Who! echos this thought as well.

“A person’s a person, no matter how small.”

And while on the topic of Horton the Elephant, how about his characteristics of honour, loyalty, and doing your best?

“I meant what I said and I said what I meant. An elephant’s faithful one-hundred percent!”

Environmental stewardship? Try the Lorax (my all time favourite Dr. Suess book). This little guy was speaking for conservation of the natural world from the second he popped from that Truffula stump!

“I am the Lorax. I speak for the trees. I speak for the trees for the trees have no tongues.”

Or the Once-ler learning that we can help repair the damage done if we care

“But now,” says the Once-ler, “now that you’re here, the word of the Lorax seems perfectly clear. UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

All these are very Scout like things, and though there is no way to know for sure I see Scouting in Suess and Suess in Scouting and that’s good enough for me.

Instead of my normal sign off I going to leave you with one last quote.

“So…
be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray
or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,
you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!”

What do you think?

