Why am I a Scouter?

With it being Gilwell reunion weekend I thought that I would give some time to reflect on why I’m a Scout Leader for this weeks Scouter5

Most when asked this question will answer “for the youth”. While this is a truth, it is sometimes only a half truth. What makes adults give so much to this program? What do they take back from it? A little over 10 years ago this month I walked into my first meeting as a fresh “out of the box” leader. At that point I had no idea where this adventure of working with youth would take me.

To me it was something I felt I should do. My son was starting out in Beavers and I was of the mind that I should help give him and his fellow Beavers a good experience. As time passed I grew as a leader and by the end of that first year I knew that I had found something special. Since then I have found myself pushed well past my comfort zone and done things that I wouldn’t have thought I could do.

I’ve rappelled, kayaked, and camped in the back woods. I’ve seen misty mornings on lonely lakes and listened to sleeping Scouts tired from a day adventuring. Loons, owls and coyotes have sung me off to sleep. All of these are payment received for the time and effort I’ve put into Scouting. So while I’m a Scouter “for the kids” I’m also a Scouter for myself as well.

While browsing the web I found this passage that adds a few more reasons to why I (we) do what I (we) do.

I’m not a Scout Leader for the easy hours, high pay, parents’ gratitude, power or prestige.

I’m a Leader because I want the world for your son or daughter or mine.

A world they can share and help shape: a world of love and laughter where they can show compassion.

I want to help them learn to finish anything they start and do it well and to guide them to know their self-worth with a deeper understanding of themselves.

I want to help shape men and women who have strength of character and are sensitive to the needs of others.

I want them to be the best they can be – whether as career people or tradesmen, young adults who are the hearts of the family.

In giving my time and myself I reap rewards far beyond what I give. I receive a better world for my children and future generations.

I’m a Scout Leader because I care.

Unknown

Please feel free to add your own reasons to the comments section below.

Until next time…

Be safe, be prepared, and keep Scouting!

What do you think?

